This year, we will be looking into the know how’s of chemistry. Before I actually go off into the unknown world of chemicals, I’m gonna need to know what I have to do to reduce the chances of me making something explode.

The first thing I will need to keep in mind is NEVER to work alone. As important as it is for me to be able to execute lab techniques on my own, the last thing I want to do is set myself on fire by lighting a Bunsen burner while nobody’s around. It is important for me to at least have a partner or a supervisor to help me and watch over my routines so that nothing bad happens to me. It is also necessary to have someone working with you so I can make sure what I am doing is correct and will not lead to a chemical reaction gone wrong.

Another thing I want to remember is to keep the working attitude on at all times. By this, I mean that there is no place for jokes and games in the lab. It may be fun to play around, but the lab is the last place I want to be in when somebody is joking around in. Distracting others or being rough is prohibited in the lab for a reason. Any prank or joke in the lab could lead to injuries, ESPECIALLY when working with chemicals. The possibility of corrosive liquids falling onto someone or poisonous gases being released into the room is reason enough for me to think twice before horsing around in the lab.

The final thing I will remember is to keep everything clean and tidy. It may seem like a silly idea at first, but it has reasons for being necessary. Keeping the floor dry can be rephrased as “not letting anybody holding tons of beakers and test tubes slip on spilled water”. Cleaning all apparatus after using them and placing them in the right places afterwards helps the next people using them from having to do it themselves. It creates a flowing working atmosphere and is generally a good way to keep everybody optimistic about the next experiment.